The Nerd is Strong with This One

I had a couple more nerd moments this week as illustrated in the photos below. Before you ask, yes that is the Millennium Falcon made out of yogurt, and no, I do not know why the cash register says that it is out of windshield washer fluid. The guy at Home Depot seemed thoroughly confused when I told him that his self-checkout machine needed washer fluid.IMG_3764 IMG_3765

My mom and sister flew out this morning with Leslie and the kids leaving me home alone for the next week. This is the first time in a long while since I have been back to bachelor status and I’m not quite certain what I should be doing with my time. Right now it is a toss-up between finishing my newsletter and going to bed at 2045. Woohoo! I get my wife and kids out of the house and the first thing I contemplate doing is going to bed early. I really need to figure out a new project to start; otherwise this week is going to go downhill fast. The next thing you know I’ll be eating leftover pretzels and cinnamon rolls for dinner then polishing it off with a bit of chocolate cake topped with ice cream… wait, that has already happened. Someone send help, preferably in the form of a loaf of bread and a jar of peanut butter.

As a believer in a God who listens to our prayers it should not surprise me to see Him answer them, and truth be told, I am not usually surprised when He does. This week I was a little startled by the specificity with which he answered one of my prayers. When Gideon prayed to God for confirmation he asked that the fleece would be wet and the ground dry, the following night he asked that the fleece would be dry and the ground wet (Judges 6:36-40). In both cases God answered Gideon’s prayer in great detail. Had I been in Gideon’s shoes I probably would have been satisfied if only one of the conditions of my prayer had been met. I think this is largely due to the fact that because as an American Christian culture we have settled; we are so desperate to hear God’s voice yet we are largely unwilling to actually believe that He will answer our prayers in a big and miraculous fashion. This has resulted in the fact that we have become willing to accept the most insignificant details as signs of answered prayer.

“God I asked that you would make the fleece wet and the ground dry and… well… They are both wet. I guess this probably counts,” or even “God, I went to water the lawn and I accidentally got the fleece wet; now the fleece is wet and the ground is dry, is this what you’re giving me?”

What’s worse is when we run with this and we never consider the fact that maybe it was just dew, or perhaps God was even specifically not giving us confirmation of our prayers. My God is bigger than this little logical, rational, scientific box that I sometimes try to put Him in. God listens to our prayers and He is willing to answer them if we will just get out of the way. I’m not saying the God behaves like a vending machine, but it is a rare request that God answers while we are still trying to help things along under our own power.

One thing about that story of Gideon rings particularly true in my own life, Gideon had already determined He was going to be obedient, Gideon had already decided that he was going to follow the path God led him down, he just wanted confirmation that he was on the right path. I had already decided to follow God if He led me down this path; I merely wanted confirmation that this was where He was taking me. To steal a point from a book written by a buddy of mine, if you want to really see God answer your prayers, decide before you even begin praying that you are going to be obedient to where God leads, then just stand back and watch the fireworks.

Leave a Reply

