How It’s Made

This past week I had a trip to two GE sites in Ohio to evaluate the possibility of installing solar at their facilities. They were two of the coolest facilities that I have ever had the opportunity to tour, which is really saying something since I’ve been through one of GE’s jet engine manufacturing plants. The first fascinating (although at one point I did find myself standing not 4’ away from barrels that were labeled “Radioactive Waste”), what was awesome was the property itself. The plant sat on about 120 acres of land but only took up about 30 acres of it. The rest of the property was heavily wooded and had a river running through it, complete with a 40’ waterfall and two small ponds. Most of our visit involved the type of hiking that I typically only experience when I am camping. It really was a beautiful piece of property. I am almost going to regret cutting down all those trees to install a solar plant… I’m kidding; we will likely place our plant at the front of the facility in an area that is already devoid of trees.

From Cleveland I drove down to Columbus and visited with Leslie’s brother and his wife for a little bit before I headed to my hotel for the evening. The next morning I got up and went to a plant that has been in business since 1949 and manufactures about 80% of all the glass tubes used in the GE fluorescent light bulbs. After inspecting the property I still had time to kill before my flight so I was able to tour the plant manufacturing facilities and it was pretty incredible. I felt like I was inside of an episode of “How It’s Made.” It was awesome being able to stand about 4’ away from a vat of molten glass and watch as the tubes were formed. Considering that the original tube is over 200’ long and is continuous all the way back to the vat of molten glass, their cutting and molding operation is quite a site to see.IMG_3708 IMG_3709 IMG_3713

Now that I have essentially finished the work on the pergola I don’t have any more tasks queued up for work around the house, and to be honest, it is kind of a strange feeling, almost a little unsettling. I’ve have had projects to work on in some form or another ever since we moved into the house, now that I don’t I just keep getting the feeling that I need another project. I’m starting to understand the allure of woodworking for a hobby, always having something to do, something you can work on.

I’ll be spending all of next week in Durham, hopefully finishing up a project that is long overdue. Don’t get me wrong, I am very grateful for all of the extra times I have been able to visit Chick Fila and Maggie Moos because of the delays in this project, however, at a certain point the stress of these delays outweighs the bliss of enjoying fried chicken sandwiches and amazing ice cream. I know, I can’t believe that I said what I just said either, I would never have thought that I would come to such a conclusion in my lifetime. I had probably better go to bed before I say any more blasphemous things.

Leave a Reply

