The Empire Strikes Back

I know, I know, I am late again this week… or perhaps I should just leave it at the fact I missed last week and I am just really early for this week. Either way, work and family got a little busy this past week and thus here I am, Monday morning and still trying to put the final touches on my newsletter, oh well.

I started this letter out saying how it was nice to have another week based out of the home office but then I realized that I was actually travelling Monday through Wednesday. Originally I had planned on being in North Carolina through Wednesday evening, however, Tuesday brought the threat of sleet and freezing temperatures through the night and on into Wednesday morning so I decided to jump ship and at least try to get out of Raleigh before the storm system came in. I ended up not being able to make the Atlanta to Albany connection so I stayed the night with a friend and got back into Albany on Wednesday afternoon. It is sad that a week and a half in the office is enough to make it seem like I’ve been there all week.

The business I work for at my company is actually a fairly small group and as such it is not unusual for me to have daily communication with both our sales and development team, even though I am fairly far removed from them in the project development process. Earlier in the week I was talking with one of our project developers and I mentioned a certain property to him in passing I told him that we needed to build a project on this property. He took one look and agreed to model it in our solar design software. As the word passed among the team of the project we had identified, excitement grew. Our developer left a message with the building administrator, but as of Friday we had not heard back from them. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity, this is one of those projects that we might be able to get funding for even if the economics never work out. I have included a model of the project below. Keep in mind that the solar panels only enhance the design; the layout of the property is already fantastic.

Allentown ProjectLast week I installed a remote home monitoring system that allows me to control my locks and lights from my phone. I cannot tell you how awesome it is to be able to lock my (detached) garage door without ever having to get up from the couch. No more getting my coat and shoes on and going out into subzero temperatures just to make sure the garage is locked; that, and the fact that I can now turn off my bedroom lights without having to get out of bed makes this recent modification to my home simply amazing, score one for laziness. To be fair, this whole package started as a desire/need to have a system in with which I could monitor whether or not my basement was starting to flood; then it moved to the doors and from there it was a natural progression to the lights. I am actually impressed with how affordable it is to make a “smart home” now.

Leslie took Ayla to a scheduled doctor’s visit on Friday, while our daughter is a premature baby only a week and a half out of the hospital, it was unsurprising to me to discover that she had gained a little over a pound over the past week. This is even crazier when you consider that she isn’t even supposed to be born for another week! It would appear that Leslie has a genetic inclination to birth rather large children. I know that this is not the first time I have said this, but I still cannot get over how big our kids are for their ages.

Well, I’m going to have to cut this short, today’s a holiday and I have other plans, plans that do not involve sitting here working on my laptop. That and I have already invested way more time than a measly 700 words would seem to warrant.

Leave a Reply

