Tell Me a Story

I wanted to thank all of you for your thoughts and prayers last week; I am happy to report that as of Sunday Leslie was back to 100%, or at least as close to it as she can get while still being 30 weeks pregnant.  Friday and Saturday were still a little touch and go, but by Sunday morning she was up and ready to go to church, that afternoon she was ready to restart the process of getting stuff unpacked.

While I was at work on Monday I had an interesting conversation with a seemingly very unfortunate coworker.  He was explaining why he had a natural distrust for doctors when it came up that he has been struck by a car six different times and struck by lightning once, all on his left side.  Later during the day we had a meeting in a conference room and when he came in I was already sitting down.  He sat on my right side and I yelled at him, “Aaah, don’t sit there!  Sit on the other side of me; I’m not going to be sitting between you and whatever is coming for your left side.”  But seriously, how does one go about being struck by a car six different times?  I would think you would learn your lesson after the first or second time.

A couple of weeks ago while I was working outside raking and bagging leaves (what else?) I offered to watch Jack as I worked so that Leslie could get some things done inside the house.  As I was bagging leaves I heard an odd scraping sound.  I looked over and I saw Jack dragging the rake over the lawn and all I could think was, “Just a few more years, son.  Just a few more years and I won’t have to rake leaves anymore; that will be your job.”  Of course that thought was quickly followed by, “man, if I had started having kids years ago I wouldn’t have to be raking leaves at all!”  Ah the joys of having children, that inexhaustible supply of completely exploitable labor.

photo 1

Last weekend the church we visited had a pastor from a church plant in Rochester, New York down to speak to the congregation.  I was glad we happened to be there that week because this dude had one of the funniest stories I have ever heard, I was in tears upon his conclusion a few minutes later.  His story was an analogy to how we each have our own role to play in the body and that each role, regardless of its perceived significance, is important to the function of the whole and that we should treat our tasks and responsibilities within that role with the appropriate seriousness and gravity.  Anyway, his story went like this:

I was asleep in bed the other night when I heard the stairs creak as someone came down the stairs.  See, our bedroom is on the first floor and our kids’ bedrooms are on the second floor.  As I wondered which of my children had woken up I saw this blue glow outline my closed bedroom door.  My curiosity grew as my bedroom door slowly opened and I saw my 5 year old son standing there holding his blue lightsaber as he patrolled the house.  With all seriousness he looked at me and asked,

“Did you hear that?  It sounded like a giant stomping around.”

I said, “Son, do you think there are giants out there?”

“Don’t be silly,” he replied, “Giants don’t exist.  Something probably fell on the floor.”

Then, as he closed the door he said, “It’s dark out there,” and continued his patrol.  The whole time I’m sitting there thinking, what do my neighbors have to be thinking?  I wonder if they wake up and look across the yard into my windows and see my 5 year old son patrolling the house in the middle of the night carrying this blue lightsaber.

As some of you know, my father is the president of CEO of the company that is performing the role of the general contractor on one of my current projects.  It was a little bit of a hassle at first because I had to jump through a number of hoops to identify and work around the potential conflict of interest.  We are building this project on a property owned by GE so our customer is internal to the business and was made aware of the measures we put in place to prevent any conflicts of interest.  We’ve hit a few bumps along the way that have pushed out our schedule and as I was talking with my customer yesterday he kept telling me (jokingly), “Do they know who your dad is?  You need to call your dad!”

The story was humorous enough to me that I decided to relay it to the project manager for the contractor (my father’s company).  He got a kick out of it and told me, “you know, it’s funny you say that because when I drove in this morning I saw a dark gray Chrysler 300 with Tennessee plates (a car whose description matches that of the vehicle my father drives) parked in the visitor’s lot, and I thought, ‘Oh no, he called in the cavalry.’”

Next week, in addition to Thanksgiving, I am taking a few vacation days at the beginning so I will actually be off the entire week.  I am very much looking forward to being able to be home and spend some time with my family.  Assuming I do not have to repair any more leaks in the basement I expect it to be a time I can kick back and enjoy the home we just purchased.

Leave a Reply

