The Two Cone Continuance

A number of you expressed concern about my two cone dilemma last week, especially since I did not go in to great detail about the outcome of said dilemma.  Rest assured that a man of my talents and expertise was able to overcome the challenges and difficulties presented by such an obstacle with relative ease.  I was able to consume both cones on the road home with minimal mess and maximum enjoyment.  Nevertheless, I appreciate your concern, regardless of how unwarranted it may have been.

Leslie and I stopped to visit my sister in Kennesaw this week as we travelled from her mom and dad’s place to mine.  While we were there we met her roommate from Sao Paulo, in Brazil.  Her name was Mariana… or Maria…  Mariachi, maybe?  No, it was Margarita… No, that’s not right… Marina!  That’s it, Marina.  Obviously I struggled with her name just a bit.  I called her Mariana and Maria while we were there, and it really didn’t help when they both came up for the weekend and I greeted her by calling her Margarita.

The good news this week is that we sold our truck, unfortunately the camper is still on the market, but at least we are now halfway through liquidating our major assets… well, at least until we purchase a house that is.  Anyone want to buy a camper?  It was quite incredible actually, within a day of posting the ad on Craigslist I had four people who wanted to come look at it.  The following day I had someone come and look at it and make an offer… perhaps I should have asked more?  Not a bad buy back in 2009 considering that I ended up selling the vehicle for only 8% less than I paid for it.

Last weekend I got together with a group of guys for a weekend of prayer and worship, a weekend of teaching and evangelism.  Anytime I get together with these guys it is amazing, last weekend was no exception.  This group of guys is one whose hearts and souls are completely sold out for Christ, a group who shows no fear or shame about coming together to worship and teach about Jesus.  Of course if it ended there it would be a bit of a disappointment, instead we always spend a few evening going out and practicing what we are preaching, we spend our time hitting the streets and talking about the love of Christ, passionately trying to reach the lost that even one soul might be saved during our time together.

It has been amazing to me to see how the dynamic of the group has changed over the years, what started as a yearly gathering in Charlotte, NC over New Year’s Day in 2006 has evolved in multiple gatherings all of the US taking place four or five times a year!  Not all of us are able to make every event; in fact, it has been a number of years since I myself have been able to attend one of the gatherings, but you are always guaranteed to see a number of faces you know and often times just as many as you don’t.

Young and old, from 16 up to 70, a cross-denominational group of men gather many times a year to exhort one another, to pray and teach, learn and worship the one true God.  I won’t go into a whole lot of detail because words simply cannot do these events justice, but to see the Spirit of God move of such a group of men over and over again is powerful and uplifting.  And let me just say this, denominational bickering and petty theological differences* aside, you’ve never worshipped until you’ve worshipped with a born-again Charismatic!

*I perfectly understand that some denominations hold some pretty different and probably abiblical theological views, these are not what I am talking about

If I have at all piqued your interest, let me know, I would love to have you join me at the next gathering, somewhere and sometime in Denver at the end of the year if I am not mistaken.

Leave a Reply

