Harmonicas, Loud Music, and Pursed Lips, Oh My!

This week we learned that Jack is afraid of loud music and harmonicas.  My mother sent a box of clothing and toys for Jack and in this box was a little fish shaped harmonica.  I came home one evening and Leslie had him cradled against her chest while she sat in the rocking chair, the remnants of tears in his eyes.  Immediately I knew something was wrong since I could see that he was awake and not squirming about or actively crying… this is not a kid who likes to be held against your chest.  As I looked at her she said, “He’s been like this for the past hour and a half, I scared him earlier, pretty badly.”  At this point my mind is racing, trying to figure out what she could have done… did she dress up in a clown suit and jump out of the closet just when he woke up?  Did she take him outside and throw him high enough that the proverbial (or perhaps in this case, literal) bowel movement was scared out of him?  At this point she saw my confusion and said, “There was a toy harmonica in that box your mom sent us, when I blew on it he started freaking out.  He’s been this way ever since.”  Of course, I was a little skeptical, because, while our child is very jumpy, he doesn’t freak out very often.  In fact, never in my memory for issues that haven’t been related to food or teething.  Seeing as I was skeptical I pulled out the harmonica and Jack’s eyes focused on me like a laser.  Quietly I blew a little tune into the harmonica, instantly the little guy turned the waterworks onto the Niagara Falls setting.  Exasperated, Leslie got up and with a big sigh, handed him to me.  “He’s all yours,” she said.  So yea… my kid is scared of harmonicas… harmonicas and loud music… harmonicas, loud music, and that trumpeting elephant sound I make with pursed lips.

"Gee thanks dad, why don't you snag a picture of me crying instead of trying to comfort me?"

“Gee thanks dad, why don’t you snag a picture of me crying instead of trying to comfort me?”

Also, the video in the link below is not my kid, but it is hilarious:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fwGZFp3eFs

The other night Jack was sitting in bed with us as we watched the news and he kept banging his head against the (padded) headboard, sometimes with quite a bit of force.  After a few times, Leslie asked me what he was doing, with my usual quick wit I responded, “Losing his ability to learn calculus.”  The whole scenario would not have been nearly as funny if I hadn’t chosen that point in time to readjust my position on the bed and in the process of doing so, smacked the snot out of my own head on the top of the camper.  During her peals of laughter, Leslie asked if I was ok to which I responded through waves of agony, “And there goes my ability to understand calculus.”

Now, as I promised three weeks ago, I am finally able to present our mission statement to you, or at least a draft of it.  The most difficult part of the process was paring down the initial essay statement I drafted up into something that was more concise.  My first draft came in at 204 words, after an agonizing half hour of chopping and rewriting I tallied up my word count and much to my dismay I had only gotten it down to 199 words.  Fortunately, I had a good friend who reviewed it for me and made a couple of suggestions narrowing it down to a much more manageable 61 words.  So without any more delay I present you with the Filippo Family Mission Statement – Third Draft:

Our purpose is to bring honor to God by serving His will and obeying His commands, living this out every day by how we treat our spouse, our children, and others following the model Christ established in His relationship with the Church.  We trust that by being obedient to God’s commands He can and will use us as He sees fit.

For those of you who are interested, here is the long form version of our statement.

Our purpose is to bring honor to God by serving His will and obeying His commands, living this out every day by how we treat our spouse, our children, and others following the model Christ established in His relationship with the Church.  Discipleship forms the foundation of our lives, just as Christ disciples us through our pray and reading of the Scripture, so we should be discipling our children, training them up in the ways that are right.  In addition, we follow God’s command to love others as we love ourselves; giving freely of our time and resources, both within the family and without.  We understand and acknowledge that we are reliant on Him for everything; we also understand that sometimes good things can be an encumbrance and as a result we devote our time and resources first to our faith, second to our spouse, third to our children, and fourth to the world.  We trust that by being obedient to God’s commands He can and will use us as He sees fit.  Our value is not determined by how big of a role we play, rather by how willing we are to play the role He has given us.

One thought on “Harmonicas, Loud Music, and Pursed Lips, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

